Sun. Jul 21st, 2024

Since its inception on April 12, 1988, the Securities and Exchange Board of India (SEBI) has played a crucial role in shaping and overseeing the securities and commodities market in the country. The metamorphosis of SEBI, transitioning from an executive body to a regulatory authority vested with legal powers in 1922, has been shaped by a series of dynamic leaders. This article will delve into the historical trajectory of SEBI’s Chairpersons, tracing their leadership journey from the organization’s establishment to the present day, highlighting the challenges and transformations along the way.

List of SEBI Chairman Till September 2023

Here is the complete list of chairpersons of SEBI from 1988 to 2023:

S. No. Chairman Tenure
1. Dr. S.A. Dave 12th April 1988 to 23rd August 1990
2. Shri G.V. Ramakrishna 24th August 1990 to 17th January 1994
3. Shri S.S. Nadkarni 17th January 1994 to 31st January 1995
4. Shri D.R. Mehta 21st February 1995 to 20th February 2002
5. Shri G.N. Bajpai 20th February 2002 to 18th February 2005
6. Shri M. Damodaran 18th February 2005 to 18th February 2008
7. Shri C.B. Bhave 19th February 2008 to 17th February 2011
8. Shri U.K. Sinha 18th February 2011 to 01st March 2017
9. Shri Ajay Tyagi 01st March 2017 to 28th February 2022
10. Madhabi Puri Buch 28th February 2022 – Incumbent

Find More General Studies News Here


By admin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *