Mon. Jul 22nd, 2024

Here, we are discussing about the winners of the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup from 2007 to 2022. The last tournament was in 2022 in Australia. England won against Pakistan in the final match on November 13th at the Melbourne Cricket Ground. They became the 2022 champions. Below is a list of all the past winners of the T20 World Cup.

ODI Cricket World Cup Winners List from 1975 to 2023

T20 World Cup 2024

  1. Host Countries: The tournament will be jointly hosted by the West Indies and the United States, making it the first time a major ICC cricket tournament will be held in the United States. This is seen as a significant step in the development of cricket in the United States, which has a growing cricket fanbase.
  2. Expanded Format: The tournament will feature 20 teams, the most in T20 World Cup history. This expansion is expected to make the tournament more competitive and exciting, as it will bring in more diverse cricketing nations.
  3. Qualification Process: The qualification process for the tournament is still ongoing, with eight teams already securing their spots. The remaining twelve spots will be determined through a regional qualification process.
  4. Venues: The venues for the tournament have not yet been announced, but they are expected to be spread across the United States and the West Indies. This will provide a unique opportunity for fans to experience cricket in different environments.
  5. Anticipation: The T20 World Cup is one of the most anticipated cricket tournaments in the world, and the 2024 edition is expected to be no different. Fans are eagerly awaiting the tournament to see the best cricketing nations in the world compete for the coveted trophy.

T20 World Cup Winners List from 2007 to 2022

ICC T20 Cricket World Cup is a global tournament organized by the International Cricket Council (ICC). It debuted in South Africa in 2007, with the most recent Men’s ICC T20 Cricket World Cup taking place in Australia from October 16th to November 13th, 2022. In this article, we are providing the T20 World Cup Winners List from 2007 to 2022.  Let’s have a look at the T20 World Cup winners list from 2007 to 2022:

T20 World Cup Winners List from 2007 to 2022
Year Host Country Winner
2007 South Africa India
2009 England Pakistan
2010 West Indies England
2012 Sri Lanka West Indies
2014 Bangladesh Sri Lanka
2016 India West Indies
2021 UAE/Oman Australia
2022 Australia England
2023 Update Soon Update Soon

T20 World Cup Winners List

The T20 World Cup winners list will help you to increase your sports general knowledge. Below, you’ll find a comprehensive breakdown of the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup champions, runners-up, Players of the Series, leading run-scorers, top wicket-takers, and host locations.

Year Winner Runner-Up Player of the Series Top Run Scorer Highest Wicket Taker Venue
2007 India Pakistan Shahid Afridi Matthew Hayden Umar Gul South Africa
2009 Pakistan Sri Lanka Tillakaratne Dilshan Tillakaratne Dilshan Umar Gul England
2010 England Australia Kevin Pietersen Mahela Jayawardene Dirk Nannes West Indies
2012 West Indies Sri Lanka Shane Watson Shane Watson Ajantha Mendis Sri Lanka
2014 Sri Lanka India Virat Kohli Virat Kohli Ajantha Mendis Bangladesh
2016 West Indies England Virat Kohli Tamim Iqbal Mustafizur Rahman India
2021 Australia New Zealand Mitchell Marsh Babar Azam Adam Zampa UAE/Oman
2022 England Pakistan Sam Curran Virat Kohli Wanindu Hasaranga Australia

T20 World Cup Winners List- Country-wise

When it comes to the top-performing cricket team in the T20 World Cup, West Indies stands out as the most successful. West Indies is the sole nation to have secured the ICC T20 World Cup championship twice, in 2012 and 2016, while India, Pakistan, England, and Sri Lanka have each claimed victory once.  Let’s have a look at the country-wise T20 World Cup winners list from 2007 to 2022.

Country Name No. of times Winner Year
West Indies 2 2012, 2016
India 1 2007
Pakistan 1 2009
England 2 2010, 2022
Sri Lanka 1 2014
Australia 1 2021

T20 World Cup Winners List

The T20 World Cup 2022 has concluded, and England emerged as the new champions of the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup. In the first semifinal, Pakistan competed against New Zealand, and Pakistan emerged victorious, becoming the first team to secure a spot in the final of the ICC T20 Men’s World Cup 2022. The second semifinal featured a match between India and England, with England winning by 10 wickets and becoming the second team to qualify for the finals.

T20 World Cup Winners List

Here, we are sharing the T20 world cup winners list in detail from 2007 to 2022.

T20 World Cup 2022 Winner- England

In the recently concluded T20 World Cup 2022, England emerged as the new champions. Pakistan secured their spot in the final by winning the first semifinal against New Zealand. England followed suit by defeating India with an impressive 10-wicket victory in the second semifinal. The final showdown saw England clinch the title, marking a significant achievement in the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup.

T20 World Cup 2021 Winner- Australia

Australia secured victory in the T20 World Cup 2021 by defeating New Zealand in the final. Dominating the match, Australia triumphed by 8 wickets, claiming their first ICC Men’s T20 World Cup title. Mitchell Marsh of Australia was named the player of the match in the final, adding to the team’s historic win.

T20 World Cup 2016 Winner- West Indies

In the T20 World Cup 2016, West Indies achieved a remarkable feat by winning the tournament for the second time. They outplayed England in the final, securing victory and becoming the first team to clinch the T20 World Cup trophy twice. Virat Kohli received the Player of the Series award, while Tamim Iqbal emerged as the highest run-scorer.

T20 World Cup 2014 Winner- Sri Lanka

Sri Lanka emerged victorious in the T20 World Cup 2014, defeating India in the final by 6 wickets. This marked Sri Lanka’s first T20 World Cup win, with Virat Kohli of India earning both the top run-scorer and Player of the Series accolades.

T20 World Cup 2012 Winner- West Indies

In the T20 World Cup 2012, West Indies secured their first title by defeating host nation Sri Lanka in the final. Shane Watson of Australia excelled as both the Player of the Series and the top run-scorer, while Ajantha Mendis of Sri Lanka claimed the highest wicket-taker title.

T20 World Cup 2010 Winner- England

England made history in the T20 World Cup 2010 by becoming the first non-Asian team to claim the title. They defeated Australia in the final, with Kevin Pietersen named the Player of the Series for his outstanding contributions.

T20 World Cup 2009 Winner- Pakistan

After being runners-up in the inaugural T20 World Cup, Pakistan redeemed themselves by winning the 2009 edition. Hosted by England, Pakistan emerged victorious by defeating Sri Lanka in the final. Tillakaratne Dilshan of Sri Lanka was the Player of the Series and top run-scorer.

T20 World Cup 2007 Winner- India

India, led by MS Dhoni, made history by winning the first-ever T20 World Cup in 2007. They triumphed over Pakistan in the final, with Shahid Afridi of Pakistan named the Player of the Series. India’s journey included just one loss in the tournament against New Zealand in the Super 8s.

Find More Sports News Here

T20 World Cup Winners List from 2007 to 2023: Full List of Champions_50.1

By admin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *